Ladies Learning Code: getting to first base with WordPress

So last Saturday marked my return to vaguely technical activity for about 12 years. I was one of the lucky ladies in Toronto who got on to the WordPress course provided by Ladies Learning Code. They had run about five of these courses to date in Toronto and such is the success of the project, that classes now sell out within minutes. My friend Caroline and I were literally logged on five minutes before tickets went on sale – constantly refreshing our browsers to secure tickets, how geeky is that!

I thought the course was very well run, exceptionally well-catered and offered the nicest mentors in town (mentor to student ratio was about 1:5 I think). At times it got a little tricky negotiating local challenges whilst still trying to keep pace with the presentation, but really appreciated this introductory session and certainly inspired to explore further.

Photos from the day are below:

http://www.flickr.com/apps/slideshow/show.swf?v=71649

 

 

