Me and Seth Godin, chilling with lattes and chocolate brownies.

I’ve been having a conversation with Seth Godin this morning.

In my head, obviously.

I got an email alert about his blog post over the weekend:

Childish vs. childlike

Childlike makes a great scientist.

Childish produces tantrums.

Childlike brings fresh eyes to marketing opportunities.

Childish rarely shows up as promised.

Childlike is fearless and powerful and willing to fail.

Childish is annoying.

Childlike inquires with a pure heart.

Childish is merely ignored.

But as we sat and had a coffee (still in my head) I stressed…

“But it’s all very well being childlike, but what happens when being childlike doesn’t seem to get you anywhere? How do you maintain your childlike nature when actually you want to have the most almighty tantrum? How do you keep a pure heart in an industry that’s tainted with cynicism?”

Seth states at me in a Stoic-like manner, saying nothing.

I continue “children have tremendous energy, but they can also have a very black and white sense of what’s fair. They can get frustrated when things aren’t resolved quickly.”

And of course Seth continues to state at me with his all-knowing eyes and I realise this is the small print of working-life.

Think like a child.

Behave like a grown-up.

Sometimes easier said than done.

