Playing a very fine line

The post below is actually a fourth draft. The first draft I tweaked a bit and since I was concerned I still hadn’t articulated myself appropriately I sent it by email to my folks, who then discussed it around their dinner table. Turns out this was the worst thing I could have done, not only did they have feedback, but they totally disapproved that I would publish anything that was even remotely related to my work. Since so much of “Social” is about “People”, it goes without saying that some of this commentary needs to be about the human beings with whom I interact. I am already paranoid about being too specific, but since I am a “People First” Planner and most of my time is spent analysing folk and their relationship(s) with technology, to be denied any scope to talk about this, would defeat the point of working in this space.

