Public and private personas

Had a long debate with Pete (MD of Blonde) and Phil (Managing Partner & Head of Planning) today about how we manage our social personas.

I’d brought up the fact that I was uncomfortable on Twitter as a knowledge sharer, but was happy to share my experiences (e.g. the forthcoming http://twitter.com/RunSquirrelRun). For me the lines between work and play are thoroughly blurred…. I started going to Tech Meet-Up to build up my awareness of new technologies and to see what techies are doing, but I’d also regard some of the people I’ve met there as friends and have been out for coffee, curry, gigs, films and pints with them and enjoy the conversation drifting in and out of *work* topics. The same goes for Girl Geeks and EEC, I’d hate this to be defined too strictly as work activity, because this space is also a personal passion and I don’t want to think of myself as being *Blonde* 24/7. Saying that, neither do I ever totally switch off, everything I do and see gets processed and applied in one form or another in many of the projects I’m involved with.

It’s been said to me that agency work is often a lifestyle career. I’m not massively protective over my online social profile, particularly as I don’t have anything online that I’m ashamed of (I think!). Sure I’ve made mistakes and have often ranted in updates about bad days in the office or strange folk I’ve met, but that stuff also makes me who I am. I get impatient, excited, frustrated….

Having worked for Andrew Girdwood at bigmouthmedia, Rory Paterson at Mediacom and now for Phil Adams and Pete Burns at Blonde – all men massively admired in this industry, I kind of have to work out what I’m about and stop trying to directly compete with their profiles. It’s not about belittling my work or putting these guys on a pedestal, but it’s absolutely clear that “being social” means different things to all of us and defining the diversity and territory of personality and profile isn’t necessarily going to be simple.

