Do doo do doo and finally writing up the TEDx Edinburgh post

Man, these weeks just aren’t long enough. Or I’m just not that efficient having been distracted by background IM (Instant Messenger) chats.

Sitting comfortably?

One upon a time there was TED: http://www.ted.com/

TED is a small nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader. Along with the annual TED Conference in Long Beach, California, and the TEDGlobal conference in Oxford UK, TED includes the award-winning TEDTalks video site, the Open Translation Program, the new TEDx community program, this year’s TEDIndia Conference and the annual TED Prize.

And then at some point there was TEDx: http://www.ted.com/tedx

TEDx is a new program that enables local communities such as schools, businesses, libraries, neighborhoods or just groups of friends to organize, design and host their own independent, TED-like events.

And then on Thursday, 26th November 2009

There was TEDx Edinburgh, outlined here: slides outline

More detailed information on the programme can be found here on the TEDx Edinburgh wiki: http://tedxedinburgh.wikispaces.com/Programme (though I don’t think Eva Schonveld turned up)

My favourite talk was from Robert Kyle from Abundance Edinburgh, mostly because it was an engaging speech fron a passionate guy about an active project. The other talks were also of interest, it’s just somehow they didn’t feel inspiring. I was already aware of the complexity of the debate around environmental issues and the need to recycle… believe me I’m an active campaigner, my colleagues and flatmates will verify that!

I just found it sad that these issues of participation, inclusion and sustainability are still dominated by lefty Guardian readers. Wait! Before you get angry with me for making such a remark, I am a lefty Guardian reader; but when it comes to debates on the above talks , I want to hear all sides … I want to hear fresh arguments, a balanced debate and most importantly I don’t want the stage dominated by niche players. These are massive issues and it’s a real shame that this event did not get the input and attention it deserved from the broader community in Scotland.

I re-read what I’ve written and it must appear critical, but the fact that this event happened at all was pretty much down to the herculean effort of one woman (as far as I can see) Paola Di Maio. Of course there were the speakers (thank-you) and the camera man (thank-you) and the tech support (thank-you), but Paulo produced this event from scratch and though I think there’s a lot that can be done to amplify the effort invested in TEDx, this lady deserves one HUGE round of applause.
When I find out where/when the films from TEDx Edinburgh go online, I’ll make sure I post the link here.

